Getting Started – Pattern Drafting -Childs Bodice

With any of my sewing projects I always start off with a basic pattern, In this post I will show you how I draft a pattern for many of my projects

What you need

  • Some paper, I used regular A4 for this pattern but sometimes you may need a bigger piece of paper so you can use just about anything including freezer paper or newspaper.
  • A Pencil
  • A Ruler
  • A T-shirt, one that fits the child or person you intend to make a garment for.
  • Paper Scissors

Set your paper down on a good work surface and fold your t-shirt in half then place it onto the piece of paper matching the folded edge with the edge of paper. Draw around the shirt, moving the sleeves to the side and following the sleeve seam.

wp-1420203566182wp-1420203645504

Once you have drawn around the T-shirt you should have the general outline of a t-shirt pattern, we need to add seam allowance to this. We add seam allowance for stitching, without this the garment will be tight. For beginners purpose we are adding more allowance then needed but for all future posts I wont be adding as much.

wp-1420204329599

I used a ruler and added 1/2 inch seam to the top shoulder, 1/4 inch to the arm hole and 1 inch to the side seams, if you are comfortable with adding less than do so, I normally add 3/8-1/2 inch seam allowance all around.

Now cut this pattern out twice, you need one for the front too which we will alter slightly

wp-1420204491917 (1)

Now we have 2 pieces we need to make a lower neckline for the front bodice, we are keeping it basic so we need to make sure this will fit over little ones head, For my daughter I need 2 inches more so I measure from the current neckline down the centre 2 inches and create a curve to the arm hole

wp-1420204726282

Cut the Curve out and you will have your front and back bodice finished, this bodice is a great starting point for any project.

Leave a little love and feel free to ask me any questions you may have.

Sew & See

Leave a Reply

